Fat Tuesday Breakfast for Dinner

Sorry about taking so long between posts.  Things have been….busy…to say the least.   I’ve also been working with a nutritionist due to some of my medical concerns, so most of Betty’s dishes haven’t been doing the trick!  I’m going to work on trying some substitutions and figuring out some ways to make some of the recipes more healthy, so look forward to that!

But today, today is Fat Tuesday.  The day when you can embrace your heart’s desires and pig out a little bit, because you have to use up all the oil and butter in your house.  At least that’s where the tradition stems from.  Growing up in my family, we often ate German Pancakes on Fat Tuesday (we ate them a lot, actually, but I definitely remember eating them on Fat Tuesday).  These are also known as a “Dutch Baby”, “Oven Pancake” or several other names.  If you’re British, this is basically the recipe for a Yorkshire Pudding, just garnished sweetly instead of with gravy.  My friend Emily’s favorite food is Yorkshire Pudding, and once my mom made us German Pancakes, and she thought they were weird at first but then really liked them and has even made it herself.  So,  I’m sure you’ll like them too!

This recipe can be found in later editions of Betty Crocker (called a Dutch Baby), but is not technically in my edition.  This is the exact recipe from my mom:

German Pancakes:

  • Preheat Oven to 425.  Place 2 tbsp of butter in a pie plate and place in oven while preheating to melt butter
  • Wisk 3 eggs, 1/2 cup all-purpose flour, 1/4 tsp salt and 1/2 cup milk (I use 1%, but any will be fine in this)
  • Pour the batter over butter in the heated skillet.  Bake 13 minutes until edges are golden.
  • Transfer to a plate.  Top generously with lemon and powdered sugar.
Puffed up and perfect!
Puffed up and perfect!

The pancake will deflate quickly as it cools, so try to bring to the table right away to be more impressive. You can also top with fresh fruit, whipped cream or even syrup, but the classic in my family is lemon and powdered sugar.  I use a lot of lemon, probably about a half a lemon.  My mom also would sometimes cut up an apple and place the wedges in the butter while preheating (add a little cinnamon to the batter…mmmmm).

My mom often mixed up a large batch for our family in a blender.  The recipe can easily be doubled or tripled, just use a larger casserole dish

I served mine with some delicious maple sausage links from one of my favorite local farmers, T-Meadow Farms, and a clementine.

Mmmmmm.

Leave a comment